Covington City Council

The Covington City Council is the legislative power of the City and consists of seven members – one member from each of the five districts (Council Districts A, B, C, D, and E) and two members elected at large by all the qualified electors of the City.

The seven members of the Covington City Council enact all local laws governing the City. They also review, approve, and monitor the revenues and expenditures of the annual budget for the City as presented by the Administration. In addition, Council approval is required on all land use and zoning matters as well as annexation requests.

The Covington City Council meets on the 1st Tuesday of every month at 6 p.m. at the Council Chambers located at 222 East Kirkland Street, Covington, LA. (Please Check the Meeting Calender for Dates due to Holidays)

The agenda for each meeting is available on the website by 4 p.m. on the Friday preceding the Council meeting.

JoAnn Rucker
City of Covington Council Clerk
(985) 898-4722 ext. 295

*  To obtain Council Meeting Videos before July 2018, please email JoAnn Rucker,